2015 polls: Obanikoro, Maku and five others resigned!


Ahead of 2015 elections, Seven ministers in President Goodluck Jonathan’s cabinet have resigned their positions in order to pursue their political careers.

The list of the ministers are Ministers of Information, Labaran Maku; Trade and Industry, Samuel Ortom; State for Education, Nyesom Wike; and State for Defence, Musiliu Obanikoro.

READ ALSO:  FG withdraws 600 mining company licenses

Others are Ministers of Labour, Emeka Wogu; Health, Onyebuchi Chukwu; State for Niger Delta, Dairus Ishaku.

The ministers quit their posts to pursue their political ambitions, the government said.

The ministers, whose departure had long been expected, will contest gubernatorial elections in their respective states.